Colorado Nonprofit Association Honors JA-Rocky Mountain President Robin Wise

Today, Colorado Nonprofit Association hosted its annual Colorado Nonprofit Week Awards Luncheon in downtown Denver. This signature awards ceremony brought together community, nonprofit and business leaders to recognize seven individuals and one organization that have all positively impacted the Colorado nonprofit community.

“Colorado communities thrive when individuals, nonprofits, for-profits and government work together,” said Renny Fagan, President & CEO of Colorado Nonprofit Association. “This year’s honorees exemplify the spirit of cross-sector collaboration, and we are honored to showcase the passion and dedication of each of these individuals.”

Nearly 700 guests attended today’s luncheon honoring the award winners for their lifelong commitment to strengthening Colorado nonprofits. The 2017 Colorado Nonprofit Week Award winners are:

William Funk Award for Building Stronger Communities
This award recognizes exceptional leaders who are capable of bringing together communities to define and solve problems.

  • Mary Beth Swanson, Voices Carry Child Advocacy Center
  • Robin Wise, Junior Achievement-Rocky Mountain, Inc.

Steve Graham Award for Building Nonprofit Capacity

Past recipients of this award select the current year’s winner, an individual who has demonstrated remarkable dedication and commitment to the quality of programs and services in the nonprofit sector as a whole.

  • Sheila Bugdanowitz, Rose Community Foundation, award to be accepted by Sheila’s granddaughter Charlotte Sabina

Excellence in Media Award

This award recognizes media outlets and/or professionals who have shown support of the Colorado nonprofit sector.

  • The Valley Courier, Keith Cerny, Publisher
  • Bruce DeBoskey, The DeBoskey Group

 Legislator of the Year Award

This award recognizes legislators who have made a significant impact on the nonprofit sector through their leadership and advocacy.

  • Rep. Tracy Kraft-Tharp, House District 29 – Arvada and Westminster
  • Rep. Yeulin Willett, House District 54 – Delta and Grand Junction

 Public Service Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes an individual who has dedicated his/her life to serving the public and who has supported the nonprofit sector as a result of this dedication.

  • Nancy “Nan” Sundeen, Pitkin County Health & Human Services

Colorado Nonprofit Association thanks the generous sponsors of the Colorado Nonprofit Week Awards Luncheon including: Award Sponsors, Boettcher Foundation, The Denver Foundation; Gold Sponsors, Daniels Fund, Eide Bailly, LLP, Rose Community Foundation, The Colorado Health Foundation; Silver Sponsors, BKD CPAs & Advisors, The Colorado Trust; Bronze Sponsors, A.V. Hunter Trust, Inc., AARP Foundation, Alliance of Nonprofits for Insurance (ANI), Aponte & Busam, Inc., Barefoot PR, Bellco Credit Union, Bonfils-Stanton Foundation, Colorado Housing and Finance Authority, Community First Foundation, Corona Insights, Denver Art Museum, Denver Metro Chamber Leadership Foundation, Denver Office of Strategic Partnerships, EKS&H, El Pomar Foundation, Junior Achievement Rocky Mountain, Inc., Kaiser Permanente, Kundinger, Corder & Engle, P.C., Mile High United Way, Mountain States Employers Council, Pitkin County Human Services, The Women’s Foundation of Colorado, Xcel Energy; Special Sponsor, The Denver Post

Colorado Nonprofit Week continues on Tuesday March 7 with the 2017 Day of Advocacy at the State Capitol in partnership with the Colorado Association of Funders, where nonprofits can network with leaders in the General Assembly and learn about the state legislative process. On Friday, March 10, Colorado Nonprofit Association is partnering with Metro Volunteers to host a variety of community service activities across the metro area.

To learn more about Colorado Nonprofit Week and sign up for volunteer and educational opportunities, visit